BillBelew.com
Belew SpeaksBusiness AdviceFocus

It Takes 9 months for marketing to work, so1096

Forum Owner Belew private msg quote post Address this user
I was talking to the co-founders of a new start up this morning.

They were, imho, heading down the same road so many other start ups have gone ... and failed. It doesn't mean they will fail. What do I know? I am not a prophet, nor the son of a prophet.

What I do know, think, is that they are mistaken to spend all their time building their product, then start to market it.

It will take 6-9 months of intensive and targeted marketing for an idea to kick in/catch on.

It's a bad strategy to build then market. You can create a create widget, but 6-9 months later it can be outdated.

It's a good strategy to build and market in parallel. In that way, by the time your widget is almost ready, so is your market.

It's a great strategy to have your market waiting for you when your widget is done.

What are you doing to prepare your market for when your widget will be done?

What's your strategy?
Post 1 • IP   flag post
Teacher Rev private msg quote post Address this user
@Belew

So, did you offer them a package to put their marketing program into action simultaneous with what they are already doing?
Post 2 • IP   flag post
@Rev

No. I have never met a start up at an early stage who had any money.

At this point, planting the idea was the best I could do.

Who knows? Maybe one of these days they'll listen to the old guys who have 'been there, done that.' Or didn't do it when they should have.

I'd like to hear your thoughts on this thread @Rev ....

How would you change Google Analytics?
Post 3 • IP   flag post
Member tienny private msg quote post Address this user
How do you market before building the product?
Post 4 • IP   flag post
Tell the story of what your product will do.

Think of it as when movie houses put out trailers long before the movie is ready for the theaters.

Does this make sense?