BillBelew.com
BrainstormingContent CreationWordPress

Mis-behaving Permalinks !1359

dmortaz private msg quote post Address this user
Hi Folks,

I am sure I am making a very obvious mistake that I hope you can point out to me. I am developing some new posts that I want to publish under a new menu item called "News". I have been using "custom structure" for my Permalink for 5 years and its' set to:

domain.com/%category%/%postname%/

And I have created a new category called "news" and a menu item for it called "News" which appears fine. The new content appears in the correct category (news) inside WP editor.

They show up on the editor as :
domain.com/news/post name

However, when I publish these drafts, they show up on under Blog page menu item and NOT the News page!

What am I doing wrong here? Nothing shows up under News page!
Post 1 • IP   flag post
Belew private msg quote post Address this user
Did you check blog as a category as well as news?

if so it'll show up in both of them...blog/ and news/
Post 2 • IP   flag post
dmortaz private msg quote post Address this user
No Bill. Blog was not set as a category.

I fixed it on the site with Genesis theme. It was the Page Attribute on the News page! I had change it from the Default Template to "Blog" for the posts to appear under News menu item!

I have to see what I will need to do on the site that don't have the page templates.
Post 3 • IP   flag post
tienny private msg quote post Address this user
@dmortaz Currently, my category in How To DIY and other tabs continually gives link problem. I have been trying to fix it but to no avail. Do changing the theme helps?
Post 4 • IP   flag post
Steve private msg quote post Address this user
@dmortaz Who knows and who cares ... I could probably solve it in 30 seconds however as I have previously mentioned, you're one of lifes takers and not a giver... and this giver has stopped giving to every taker.