BillBelew.com
Belew SpeaksBusiness AdviceCareer Advice

A Marketer is an Evangelist is ...1499

Belew private msg quote post Address this user
I am in a curious poaition.

This forum is not, well, a forum for faith-based discussions, political haggling and NSFW topics. Sex, religion and politics to be clear. Those topics were taboo in the ward room on our Navy ship. Lots of wisdom there.

I used to work as a missionary when I was in Japan. I am an evangelist by nature.

It occurred to me that being a marketer is not unlike being an evangelist...or is it the other way around?

A lot of the principles I apply to marketing I learned from my evangelism training many years ago.

As it turns out... just a few moments ago I got confirmation that a local very tiny Asan-American church has hired me to be their weekly preacher/evangelist.

I am wondering 2 things. I know how evangelism has affected how I do marketing. What I wonder is how my real world marketing experience will affect my evangelism.

And ... how has your experience in some other profession made you a better marketer or hindered you?
Post 1 • IP   flag post
jycmba private msg quote post Address this user
Every moment - every experience is an opportunity to learn.

Of course, the default response to ignore these lessons is always available.

But even in the most painful times, you can curse your stars or count your blessings that the moment was given to you.

If you read my writing, I will take lessons from everything from poker to aikido to flying to dancing tango..
Post 2 • IP   flag post
@jycmba

This is a strength of yours...to see the positive in so many places.

I have started to wonder how to or if to bring my Sunday lessons to Blab.

Thoughts?
Post 3 • IP   flag post
@Belew - sure, that can be a niche opportunity.. Sunday lessons for those not into going to church..