BillBelew.com
BloggingIntroductionNetworkingNewbie

How can a poet get his works read?1788

PerversePoet private msg quote post Address this user
Good morning fellow hacks and scribes.

Having signed up to this noble forum I thought it would be rude of me not to pop in and say hi!

My real name is Michael but I've lived with that name now for almost 60 years and occasionally like to try something different. Batman or Ethel didn't seem to fit so I opted for Perverse Poet.

I am actually a poet. I like to write haiku and other forms of verse. All too often "perverse" though. I also write blogs and newsletters which is part of what I do for a living. The other part is drawing illustrations.

Anyway, I look forward to getting to know you as we walk this interesting road.
Post 1 • IP   flag post
Steve private msg quote post Address this user
Welcome Michael ... a poet, nice ... that's a skill I don't have ... Do you happen to have a website we can look over and read a few of your poems?

What is the greatest challenge you are facing that perhaps someone here can help you with?
Post 2 • IP   flag post
Hi Steve,

Thanks for the welcome.

Ok, I have two sites that might be of interest. My first is my Wordpress blog https://perversepoetry.wordpress.com/ which has all sorts of stuff, the other my professional website www.michaelbirchmore.co.uk

What is my greatest challenge? What an excellent question. I think getting myself established as a credible freelance writer and illustrator.
Post 3 • IP   flag post
Belew private msg quote post Address this user
@PerversePoet

Glad to have you here!

My dad told me I was a poet, but didn't know it, but my long feet show it ... cuz they were longfellows.

Yeah. I know. Not funny.

I couldn't make a rhyme given any amount of time.

Getting yourself established as a credible freelance writer and illustrator .... hmm... starts with content on your site, that belongs to you, created by you.