The first says, “I am laying bricks.”

The second says, “I am building a church."

And the third says, “I am building the house of God.”

The first bricklayer has a job .
The second has a career.
The third has a calling.
Post 1 • IP   flag post
tammysoffices private msg quote post Address this user
So VERY true! I believe I currently given a 'gift' (my business) that is soon leading to my 'calling'. Having been in ministry for years (my husband is a Pastor), I do understand what that 'calling' really means. It also often means changing direction at a moments notice. I wonder how many others have had to do that? Change your course (whether it is life, business, passion or calling) with very little prep time?
Post 2 • IP   flag post
Belew private msg quote post Address this user
@tammysoffices

I am a part-time pastor. It's a calling, for sure.

My daily job? I make it my calling but I don't do as good a job of thst as I'd like to.
Post 3 • IP   flag post
jycmba private msg quote post Address this user
While it seems like the third is the "highest" calling, the problem is that unless the first lays some bricks and helps the 2nd to build a church, you may never get to #3.
Post 4 • IP   flag post
Clydeart private msg quote post Address this user
All three. Plus, as the architect and visionary, I would be viewing the project as a masterpiece that honors God. As the bricklayer building a house of God I would be doing my best to honor God by the talent He gave me. As the Bricklayer who is building a church, I would be concerned with the details so God would be glorified. As the Bricklayer doing the job, I would be doing the best job of laying bricks I could with the gift God gave me.
Post 5 • IP   flag post
Katie_Ellen private msg quote post Address this user
Number 1. Whatever job comes to my hand, professional or personal, I want to give it my best attention. If other things feed or arise from that effort, well, heaven is in a blade of grass.

And I am not in Spain