BillBelew.com
BrainstormingBusiness Advice

How do you deal with transition blues?2301

Belew private msg quote post Address this user
I've been filling it at a church for the past 14 months.

It was an interim position ... designed to NOT last long ... usually 6-9 months. This one went longer.

Today is the last day.

Last time to see this group that I have seen nearly weekly since Jan 1, 16.

Not feeling blue ... but feeling funky.

How do you deal with transitions?

Post 1 • IP   flag post
SunilBhaskaran private msg quote post Address this user
Hi Bill, Been there many times. Feel for you. A couple of things (not trying to overwhelm you of course - but here is a complete list):

1. List out all the accomplishments for this time.
2. List out all the emotions that are coming up and ask yourself if you can let them be or in your relationship with your God, pray and meditate on these.
3. List out all the opinions of the time - of yourself, others, situations - include any judgments of yourself etc.
4. List out all you learned.
5. List out where you failed (in specific measurable terms) e.g. promises to yourself or others vs. what got done or not done.
6. List out what is next for you in terms of a vision or goals.
7. Where do you think you would need to focus?
8 OPTIONAL: give a communication (verbal or written) based on the above - what would you now want to say to be complete.
It could be as easy as "Thank you" to more elaborate.
9. Chances are that this is a process that may take time - have the patience to keep looking to see what you can let go of and what to be patient with.
Post 2 • IP   flag post
@SunilBhaskaran

Now if I were to write all these up ... it'd make a terrific blog series, too...

Great list! Top ideas! Thanks for the prompts.
Post 3 • IP   flag post
kscare1 private msg quote post Address this user
Hi Bill here's what I know and what I do.