BillBelew.com
Content Creation

What to charge to rewrite a web site2513

Member gspieler private msg quote post Address this user
Hi all:

I've asked to submit a proposal to rewrite a web site. not to design,just rewrite the text.

I see this as a phased approach.

I've never done this before so I'm sure how to charge? Would it be cost per page?

Thanks
Post 1 • IP   flag post
Forum Owner Belew private msg quote post Address this user
@gspieler

Guestimate how long you think it will take to do the job and multiply by the hourly rate you think you are worth.
Post 2 • IP   flag post
Student TParker private msg quote post Address this user
Do you have a rate that you usually charge per word or do you always do per hour?

You could look at the existing content to get an idea of the per page word count.
Post 3 • IP   flag post
@TParker @Belew

Thank you everyone.

So I charge by the project. What I think I'm going to do, as you suggest, is figure out my hourly rate and convert that to what I think will be involved and put a fee on that.

A friend here at my MeetUp writers group reminded me about including the "interview" time that will be involved in the process.

RE the existing site, thank you. It's awful, which is why they want a rewrite, so it isn't a lot of help.

So, what do you all think of that? The client is the subject matter expert. I'm the writer.
Post 4 • IP   flag post
@gspieler

I always quote high, it depends on your confidence factor, so that there is room to negotiate.

No rewrite job by a professional is worth doing at $10/hr or some such figure.

I also tell would-be clients, "I don't want to price myself out and they are welcome to make a counter offer." If they counter with a price that is too low, I will walk away.

Be sure to add in rewrites of your rewrite. Allow for one or two iterations. Each interation might take half the time of the one before.