BillBelew.com
authorsBrainstormingGenerate Content Ideas

After my book is finished. Then what?2548

Member Natishafost private msg quote post Address this user
Hello everyone,
I am not sure if I mentioned that I am a first-time writer and my book is headed towards it last few chapters, can anyone tell me what's next and recommend any publishing companies. Its an autobiography and I need editing as well but I believe the publisher should do both right?
Post 1 • IP   flag post
Teacher Rev private msg quote post Address this user
@Natishafost

Hi Natisha! I'm going to let some of the more experienced and published authors speak to your questions above, but I just want to welcome you to the forum and invite you to our Wednesday Webbie program starting in about 10 minutes (10pm ET). You can connect by web browser or phone,

Link: https://zoom.us/j/673163244
Telephone: +1 408-638-0968 - Meeting ID: 673-163-244
Post 2 • IP   flag post
Teacher SusanDay private msg quote post Address this user
@Natishafost Great to meet you!

Getting published through a traditional publisher is extremely difficult. They are constantly sent submissions, and simply can't respond to them all.

I am a self-published author of 15 books, and I love being involved with every aspect of the process.

Traditional publishers will expect the manuscript to be edited very well - many don't have the time or the resources to employ good editors. Some hire freelancers who are not native English speakers too, which adds a lot of complexities and issues. You should take control of the editing because at the end of the day, any mistakes will fall to you.

Vanity publishers will take your money and then expect you to do all the marketing yourself. They may offer support, but to be honest it's not worth the money according to authors I know. So, why not self-publish and keep your money?