BillBelew.com

Authors, Are You Sick of Social Media?2739

Teacher SusanDay private msg quote post Address this user
Authors, Are You Sick of Social Media?

I have been writing and publishing for seven years, and to be honest I am sick of creating tweets and posts in the hope of selling my books.

Are you?

How much posting do you do online each day or week?

What happens when you get sick or have to step away from your computer for a long time?

Be honest - is it worth it?

Here is an article I wrote about what I believe is the solution to being found online - Blog posts which just about live forever and are sharable to all social media platforms (see here).

Do you agree with me or are you smashing it with your social media content?
Post 1 • IP   flag post
Forum Owner Belew private msg quote post Address this user
Hanging out in social networks is a slog. You simply have to outshout, outperform, outglitter your competition. You need deep pockets and/or incredible luck to win at this 'game.'

On the other hand, creating a meaningful blog that scratches an itch will be found. Your people will come to you. If you write well and nobody comes, you will have learned that nobody else cares as much as you do abt the same things you care abt. That's worth knowing, too.

If you only have the time to do blog anything else ... blog. There will be a time when your blog content is deep enough that you will no longer need to blog as often.

How will you know when that time is here? You will be too busy speaking, working or traveling to blog as often as you used to.

Blog.
Post 2 • IP   flag post
@Belew "out glitter" I like that term!
Post 3 • IP   flag post
Member gspieler private msg quote post Address this user
I'm sure I'm a social media failure. I canceled my Facebook account a couple of years ago as I was sick of being marketed to by my writing buddies. "Come see me speak," "buy my book" "attend my workshop"....Enough already.