BillBelew.com
Introduction

Meet The House of Homicide Author566

Member EileenMagill private msg quote post Address this user
Hi!

My name is Eileen Magill. I am an author (my first book, House of Homicide, comes out on June 17, 2015), and I have a website and blog. Now that my book is coming out, I need to maximize my online presence. I want to learn!

Eileen
Post 1 • IP   flag post
Forum Owner Belew private msg quote post Address this user
@EileenMagill

Welcome Eileen!

Is there some place online where we can see more about your book?
Post 2 • IP   flag post
Member Lloyd_Lofthouse private msg quote post Address this user
I decided to Google Eileen and see if she had bought a domain name in her own name and she did. I think that's the first step in the right direction to building an author's platform---one I didn't do when I first started. For me, it was the last step and that was a mistake. I wasted two years developing Websites and Blogs for each book and did not buy a domain name for my own name until later---after someone mentioned that should have been my first step.

I learned the hard way that an author's platform starts with the author's name acting like an umbrella for everything the author writes. The idea, as I understand it, is to develop name recognition so it's easier for an author's readers to find their new work when it comes out.

Here's the link to Eileen's Website and there is a link to her Blog on the Website page.

http://www.eileenmagill.com/
Post 3 • IP   flag post
@Lloyd_Lofthouse

You are spot on with the 'start with your name' domain advice.
Post 4 • IP   flag post
Hi Bill and Lloyd!

Thank you for your observation. I've seen a lot of authors use their book names as their website, and all but one admitted that it was a bad move. The one that it worked for was the author of a series of dozens of books.

I do, though, have a Facebook page for House of Homicide: www.facebook.com/houseofhomicide