BillBelew.com
BrainstormingHumorMisc.

How Do You Keep Track of All Your Passwords?905

Belew private msg quote post Address this user
I am dying here.

I have too many devices and accounts with too many different rules for passwords.

How do you keep track of what password goes where and when and with what account?

I am reviving an old PC (did a factory reset) and I cant get anywhere without getting a warning - you tried too many times idiot with the wrong password. You must now wait 30 minutes to try again ... or some such reminder that I really am an idiot.

Is there an easy way to keep track of passwords that I don't know about?

And please don't tell me I need to create an account somewhere that needs me to create yet another password that I have never used before.

Arghh!!!
Post 1 • IP   flag post
dono2081 private msg quote post Address this user
these are three solutions:

lastpass
roboform
1password

I've tried them, and I prefer lastpass for price-to-value.

It's a learning curve and a change in habit, so there will be frustrations. But at least they will be new and different frustrations.

D
Post 2 • IP   flag post
mcc private msg quote post Address this user
It's a big problem! I use 1Password for free. You just need to remember one password for that site and it will automatically create (or you can create it yourself) a password for you and remember it.

Or, if you want to do it a more old-fashioned way, you can create a word document and list all your passwords there. (Of course then you have to make sure the document is super secure.) You can type in what you want in "search," and you will be taken right to the password you're looking for.
Post 3 • IP   flag post
@dono2081

Thanks for the tip.
Post 4 • IP   flag post
@mcc

That's 2 mentions of 1Password.

Thanks!
Post 5 • IP   flag post
Rev private msg quote post Address this user