BillBelew.com
BloggingContent Creation

How do you set up a blog940

Top Contributor Steve private msg quote post Address this user
Has anyone got step by step instructions on how to set up a blog?

If now ... imagine someone that knows nothing about computers, etc, as being your audience, how would explain in details they would understand... how to set up a blog?
Post 1 • IP   flag post
Forum Owner Belew private msg quote post Address this user
@Steve

What I would do for the absolute beginner is say,

1. Give me $X amount of money and I will set it up for you.

I am not trying to be facetious. That'd be easier than giving them step by step instructions.

I had a student who came to a class of mine. True story.

"I am so excited to get started blogging. I went out and bought a new computer. My problem is I don't know how to open it up the lid."

Me... "Well, first you need to turn it around."

She was trying to open up her MacBook from the back end instead if the front.
Post 2 • IP   flag post
Curious, I was asked that question today on Twitter...

I directed the person here... obviously not quite the right place to send them ... unless they want to purchase a blog ...
Post 3 • IP   flag post
If they can use Twitter then they are not absolute beginners.

1. I send ppl to www.bm2hosting.com.

It's my resell act for godaddy. It's cheap and removes the need to shop around.

2. Buy a domain name.

3. Buy the absolute cheapest hosting they have.

4. Call the support number and ask them to walk you through installing WordPress.

Customer support is excellent.

5. Don't buy anything else.

6. Come to this forum and ask what to do next.
Post 4 • IP   flag post
Member jycmba private msg quote post Address this user
I tried to make it as simple as possible..

Post 5 • IP   flag post
@jycmba Above and beyond
Post 6 • IP   flag post
Teacher Rev private msg quote post Address this user
@Bill