BillBelew.com
egwebster private msg quote post Address this user
Hi, new to the forum. Wondering if anyone knows if liability/slander/ etc. insurance is recommended.
Post 1 IP   flag post
Teacher SusanDay private msg quote post Address this user
@egwebster Hi, it's great to meet you, and what an interesting question. I'm not sure there is such a thing, but I could be wrong. With bloggers reaching worldwide and each country having its own liability and slander laws I imagine it would be hard to enforce. I look forward to some of our experts chipping in on this question.
Post 2 IP   flag post
Hi Susan, I'm particularly thinking of content in the U.S. I used to do some journalism and know that people can be funny about facts/opinions etc.
Thanks for the greeting!
Post 3 IP   flag post
Member tienny private msg quote post Address this user
@egwebster Welcome to the forum. It is my first time to hear about such question. I understand how you feel especially about slander, liability, etc. Do you mind to share about your experiences? Because I would like to understand about your “funny” meaning on facts, opinions, etc.
Post 4 IP   flag post
Student TParker private msg quote post Address this user
Ugh! I researched this. I joined the Author's Guild to access a company that offers insurance to their members. The quote for me was something like $1500 to $2500 per year. After that, I quit looking. I would love to have some kind of coverage because people can sue for anything they want. But I can't justify the amount based on the volume of work I do. (As a percentage of my total annual earnings it just wasn't reasonable.)